Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

UKIE to lead Next Gen Skills coalition

Tue 18 Oct 2011 1:47pm GMT / 9:47am EDT / 6:47am PDT
Education

Initiative will implement recommendations of Livingstone-Hope report

UKIE

The Trade association for UK Interactive Entertainment

ukie.info

UKIE will take the lead in the formation of a cross-industry coalition to implement the recommendations of the Livingstone-Hope "Next Gen" report.

The Next Gen report highlighted a lack of computer science skills in the UK, and was recently discussed by Ed Vaizey, the Minister for Culture Communications and Creative Industries, on the BBC current affairs programme Newsnight.

The Next Gen Skills coalition will be composed of organisations with an interest in improving the UK's digital industries. UKIE will announce the first supporters over the next few weeks.

"I am delighted to see a cross-industry coalition coming together to support the recommendations in 'Next Gen', particularly the teaching of more relevant computing skills within the education system," said games industry veteran Ian Livingstone, who co-authored the report.

"This is a long term project which will ultimately benefit all UK creative and digital companies. Transforming the UK into the world's leading talent hub for the games industry and all other digital industries also sends an important message to companies considering inward investment here."

Google chairman Larry Schmidt also criticised the absence of computer sciences from the UK curriculum in his recent MacTaggart lecture. Schmidt said he was "flabbergasted" that the country would "throw away its great computer heritage."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now