Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Playdom co-founder leads new investment round for Idle Games

Mon 17 Oct 2011 8:28am GMT / 4:28am EDT / 1:28am PDT
PeopleDevelopment

$10 million raised for 'console quality' social title Idle Worship

Idle Games, a social game developer which has spent two years developing its first title, Idle Worship, has raised $10 million in a funding round lead by Playdom co-founder Rick Thompson, who then went to co-found Idle itself.

The company is aiming to "up the bar" for the quality of Facebook titles in order to retain customers disaffected by its rivals. Thompson had also lead a previous round of funding which raised $9 million, reports All ThingsD.

"We believe that Facebook games will only thrive by delivering the highest quality entertainment experience to users," said Idle CEO Jeff Hyman.

"That's why we're taking a new approach to Facebook game design with an emphasis on delivering a truly social experience, while raising the bar for creativity, quality and innovation."

Idle Worship, a multiplayer management sim which is "technically a polytheistic god game" is due to launch soon.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now