Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

GameFly launches Android social network for gamers

Fri 14 Oct 2011 8:57am GMT / 4:57am EDT / 1:57am PDT
MobileSocial Network

Discovery and social features working cross-platform with iOS

GameFly has launched a set of social features for its Android app allowing users to interact with fellow gamers as well as granting better access to GameFly's catalogue.

The same features have been running on the company's iOS companion app since April. All features will be cross-platform.

The game rentals company has had 4.5 million downloads of its app between Android and iOS platforms, so the new features will potentially create a network of just as many members.

Users can now create and browse profiles, find new opponents on Xbox LIVE and PSN, make, follow and comment on posts and connect other social networking tools such as Facebook and Twitter.

"We're very proud that our mobile App appeals to all gamers, not just GameFly members, giving them top quality news and information, and a very interactive social experience," said GameFly co-founder Sean Spector.

"With an average in-App session lasting more than an hour, the new social features are a great resource for casual or avid gamers to learn about what's hot or not, and to meet new people to game with."

In May this year GameFly acquired IGN's Direct2Drive service to expand it business, having filed a $50 million IPO in 2010.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now