Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Vaizey supports new IT curriculum

Tue 11 Oct 2011 11:17am GMT / 7:17am EDT / 4:17am PDT
PoliticsEducation

Minister for Culture Communications and Creative Industries appears on Newsnight to discuss education reform

Blitz Games

Blitz Games is one of Europe’s leading independent video game developers and has won numerous awards...

blitzgames.com

Blitz Games Studios

Blitz Games Studios is based in Leamington Spa, UK, and was founded in 1990 by industry veterans Andrew...

blitzgamesstudios.co...

Ed Vaizey, Minister for Culture Communications and Creative Industries, appeared on last night's BBC Newsnight and showed his support for reforms in IT education.

He spoke about the planned trials to build a new IT curriculum, which will start in November, take place in 20 school with 100 pupils and will carry on until June 2012.

Industry names like Microsoft and Blitz Games are helping the government with the scheme.

"At Blitz Games, we are excited to be working on this project with e-skills UK. We want students to understand the principles of computing and be able to unlock the potential of technology," said Blitz Games CEO Philip Oliver.

"The success of the computer games industry depends on our ability to innovate and create new, compelling technology-enabled experiences. We need more young people with the technical and creative capability to achieve this."

The programme can be viewed in full on the BBC iPlayer site until Oct 17.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now