Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Trion Worlds launching publishing and development platform

Thu 06 Oct 2011 1:33pm GMT / 9:33am EDT / 6:33am PDT
Developer ToolsOnline

Red Door aimed at creating 'premium' content for connected devices

Trion, publisher of Rift and the forthcoming Defiant and End of Nations, is to launch a development and publishing platform for online games, codenamed Red Door.

The platform is aimed at helping developers get to market more quickly and will enable content to be shared across several connected devices. Multiple monetisation solutions will be supported, as will live patching and content updates.

"Media and entertainment are transforming into connected services that evolve around the user," said Trion CEO Dr. Lars Buttler.

"Our goal is to revolutionize premium games and help the industry realize its potential in the connected era. Our first title Rift is just the tip of the iceberg; with Red Door we intend to catalyze significant change for the industry and unleash new creative possibilities. We want to hear from those with big bold ideas and dreams."

Trion Worlds' poster game, Rift, sold over four million copies in its first four months at market and operates on a subscription basis. Many of the game's advertisements have directly targeted World of Warcraft users, using the tag-line "We're not in Azeroth any more."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now