Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

FIFA 12 sells through 3.2 million units

Wed 05 Oct 2011 7:09am GMT / 3:09am EDT / 12:09am PDT
Retail

Sales up 23 per cent over last year, iOS sales top 879,000 units

EA Sports' FIFA 12 has sold through 3.2 million units in less than one week across all console formats.

That's according to official stats from the publisher, which claims the title is the biggest video game launch of 2011.

The sell-in numbers are 23 per cent higher than last year's FIFA 11. iOS sales of the game have topped 879,000 units.

"FIFA 12 is a stunning achievement by our team at EA Canada," commented Andrew Wilson, exec VP of EA Sports.

"The massive FIFA online community has overwhelmingly connected to the new live services in the game, including EA Sports Football Club, and we intend to keep them engaged all season long as FIFA 12 follows the heartbeat of the football season."

The game was released September 27 in the US and September 30 worldwide. On October 1 it registered more than 8 million game sessions, pushing total EA Sports game sessions above 10 million.

2 Comments

Daniel Cowan
Founder

5 0 0.0
It's great to see console sales up especially with all of the doom mongers saying that console is on it's way out. I don't think it is a massive improvement on 11. Sadly, for me, the AI is poor, the defending is worse than last year and the speed of the game and player change is too slow. A good game but nothing special.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Daniel Hinkles
Management/Design

17 0 0.0
The AI can be tweaked in game Daniel so maybe if you play around with some of the settings you'll find the right spot for you.

I personally think the AI is fairly impressive. Barcelona don't play like Stoke and I haven't really noticed that before.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now