Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Future Games of London hits 25m users

Tue 04 Oct 2011 12:26pm GMT / 8:26am EDT / 5:26am PDT
MobileDevelopment

Success prompts developer to adopt freemium business model across all titles

Future Games of London is claiming a 25 million user base following continued success with the Hungry Shark series of mobile games.

Numbers are up from 20 million only eight weeks ago, thanks to the conversion to a freemium model and success of Hungry Shark Night, a collaboration with Relativity Media.

"The continuing growth of our network and success of in-app purchasing is further proof that the freemium model is working well for us and for our users," said Ian Harper, MD of FGOL.

"Grabatron will probably be our final traditional, paid for game, as it wasn't designed for freemium. After that we expect all of our games to be freemium."

Total downloads for the Hungry Shark series have reached 24 million since release in April 2010, with 35 per cent of users in the US, 10 per cent in the UK, 8 per cent in Japan and Germany making up 7 per cent.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now