Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Former THQ exec launches marketing agency for indies

Tue 04 Oct 2011 7:20am GMT / 3:20am EDT / 12:20am PDT
AdvertisingDevelopment

Surprise Attack goes live with four Australian clients

Chris Wright, formerly THQ Australia's marketing director, has launched a new marketing agency to support independent game developers.

Surprise Attack is up and running with campaigns for developers The Voxel Agents, Bane Games, Pixel Elephant and Small Green Hill, with no cost until January 2012.

"As someone about to enter their fourth decade of gaming, I'm incredibly inspired by the current surge of independent development," commented Wright. "With this new breed of developers, comes the need for a new breed of support services.

"Our job is to make their games a success and let the developers focus on making fantastic and fun experiences, secure in the knowledge their output will receive the marketing support it so deserves."

As well as THQ, Wright has also worked on marketing campaigns for Sega, Capcom and Microsoft. Surprise Attack will help with all aspects of marketing from game positioning to analysis and advertising.

"We continue to grow and learn as creative game developers, but we still don't know marketing," added Simon Joslin, creative director at The Voxel Agents. "Chris will fill the void with research, strategy and product launch experience. It looks like a perfect match."

2 Comments

Murray Lorden Game Designer & Developer, MUZBOZ

199 72 0.4
Good luck Chris Wright, sounds positive!

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Guzmán Díaz

11 0 0.0
Wish him good luck too :)

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now