Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Apple thought to be planning 4th October press event

Wed 21 Sep 2011 1:15pm GMT / 9:15am EDT / 6:15am PDT
EventsHardware

iPhone 5 and new CEO Tim Cook expected centre stage

Apple is to hold a press event on October 4th, hosted by new CEO Tim Cook and potentially revealing the new model iPhone, reports suggest.

Citing unnamed sources close to Apple, All Things D has posted a story predicting that the tech giant, whose net worth now exceeds that of the US government, will hold an event on Tuesday October 4th to reveal at least one new iPhone, with some reports predicting two new models.

Whilst the reveal of an iPhone 5 for Western markets this Autumn is a near inevitability, rumours also abound that a slimmed down, cheaper model of the iPhone 4 will unveiled too, aimed at Asian and lower income markets, specifically China.

If it does go ahead, the event would be Cook's first product rollout, following the departure of previous CEO Steve Jobs earlier this year due to health reasons.

The event would certainly be an important acid test for the future of Cook's tenure at the company, which suffered some stock fluctuation after the hugely influential Jobs announced his retirement.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now