Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

The Sims Social passes 50 million MAUs

Tue 20 Sep 2011 12:46pm GMT / 8:46am EDT / 5:46am PDT
GamesSocial Network

Picks up 15 million players in one week, only CityVille to beat

The Sims Social now has 50 million monthly active users, according to social game analytics site AppData.

Developed by EA and Playfish, The Sims Social was officially launched last month, immediately attracting almost 5 million players.

Since then, the game's audience has grown exponentially, picking up an extra 15.5 million players in the last week alone to reach 51.5 million MAUs.

"When we created The Sims Social, it was important for us to incorporate the deep gameplay nuances The Sims Studio has perfected and leverage what Playfish does best - develop compelling, cutting-edge social-gaming experiences," said Playfish London general manager John Earner at the time of its launch.

The Sims Social is now the second most popular social game behind Zynga's CityVille, which has 74.1 million MAUs. However, recent figures suggest its popularity is waning, with 1.3 million users leaving the game in the last seven days.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now