Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Epic UDK update includes Mac support

Tue 20 Sep 2011 10:45am GMT / 6:45am EDT / 3:45am PDT
Developer ToolsDevelopment

Epic claims Mac development process is nearly identical to the PC

The latest version of Epic's Unreal Development Kit includes Mac support for the first time.

The UDK is the free version of the Unreal Engine 3, which Epic updates regularly at no extra charge. However, Mac support is one of the most significant improvements yet.

"Every UDK game's potential user base has increased dramatically yet again," said the company in a statement.

Epic claims that the development process for Macs is "virtually identical" to the PC, "but the packaging and deployment process does require some additional steps."

With last month's update, Epic revealed that the UDK has been downloaded more than 900,000 times.

1 Comment

Kevin Clark-Patterson Lecturer in Games Development, Lancaster and Morecambe College

294 27 0.1
Wow! About time too...this is great news for us as we predominantly use Mac based systems.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now