Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Aeria Games acquires staff from Punch Entertainment

Tue 20 Sep 2011 7:44am GMT / 3:44am EDT / 12:44am PDT
BusinessOnlinePublishing

Team already working on unnamed project, Aeria's community now 23 million registered users

Aeria Games Europe

Aeria Games & Entertainment is the leader in free-to-play massively multiplayer online (MMO) games in...

aeriagames.com

Freemium publisher Aeria Games has acquired staff from mobile developer Punch Entertainment.

The team will join Aeria's head office in Santa Clara, California, where it will complete its current, unnamed project before moving on to other titles.

Punch Entertainment is also in talks to sell its Vietnam office to mobile-social publisher DeNA. The deal would add 50 new staff to DeNA's first-party team, and is expected to complete this month.

Aeria Games was founded in 2006 to develop free-to-play experiences for "power gamers," who play up to four hours a day and are more willing to spend money than the typical casual audience.

The company now operates an online games portal of more than 30 titles, with a community of 23 million registered users.

"Our strategy... is paying off with our steadily growing pool of tens of millions of gamers and our extremely strong average revenue per user," said Aeria CEO Lan Hoang.

"As we move forward, we will continue to form strategic partnerships and grow our development teams while building and acquiring more engaging content to reward our dedicated power gamers."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now