Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Valve makes Portal free

Fri 16 Sep 2011 2:36pm GMT / 10:36am EDT / 7:36am PDT
EducationDevelopment

Limited offer to encourage use of game in classrooms

Valve Software has made its popular physics puzzler Portal free until September 20, hoping to see it used in classrooms.

"When we heard the buzz surrounding the new role video games are playing in education, we had to throw our hat in the ring," said the developer.

"Innovative educators are finding ways to incorporate Portal and Portal 2 into their classrooms-helping teach physics and critical-thinking skills. It's eye-opening to see how video games can be used in amazing and unexpected ways to help educate our next generation."

A free copy of the game can be obtained at the Learn With Portals site.

2 Comments

Mbuso Radebe Associate Producer, Smoking Gun Interactive Inc.

55 23 0.4
This is great news! Go Valve!

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Matt Hackett Game Developer, Lost Decade Games

49 2 0.0
"free until September 20"

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now