Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Finance

Virtuos production studio acquires Sparx 3D animation team

Wed 14 Sep 2011 11:21am GMT / 7:21am EDT / 4:21am PDT
OutsourcingFinance

Company expands operation with VFX team

Virtuos

Virtuos is one of the largest providers of outsourced production services to the game and movie industries....

virtuosgames.com

Production service Virtuos, who recently provided 3D models for the film Rango, has snapped up the Sparx 3D animation studio.

"Our origins in HD game production have afforded us the talents to create extremely high-quality assets, including digital doubles, for the movie industry," said Virtuos CEO Gilles Langourieux.

"Bringing together Virtuos' art production infrastructure with Sparx expertise in film-quality animation, cinematics and VFX, we will be able to offer a more fully integrated solution for all our clients."

Virtuos also provides content for Facebook games, PlayStation Home and Xbox Live, and recently worked on the Wii port of Sid Meier's Pirates.

It has acquired both the assets and core VFX team from Sparx, which recently contributed to animation to the children's film Igor.

"Virtuos is very well known in the gaming sector, and may also be the best-kept secret in Hollywood. We are very happy to partner with them, and add our specialised talents to their 800-strong team," said Sparx General Manager Didier Montarou.

Virtuos has around 800 employees with operations on Shanghai, Chengdu, Vancouver, Saigon, Paris and Tokyo.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now