Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

BAFTA launches Unity dev tool for kids

Wed 14 Sep 2011 2:03pm GMT / 10:03am EDT / 7:03am PDT
Developer Tools

Games Unpacked built by the University of Abertay for BAFTA Young Game Designers

BAFTA

BAFTA is the leading independent charity supporting, developing and promoting the art forms of the moving...

bafta.org

BAFTA has joined forces with the University of Abertay in Dundee to launch the Games Unpacked tool, a Unity based engine that allows children to make their own games.

"Every young person I know absolutely loves playing games, and Games Unpacked is a fun and easy way to take the next step into making their own games," said Paul Durrant, director of business development at Abertay University.

"By creating a simple 'digital toolbox' of all the elements of a game level, children of any age can build a brand new game and start learning about the fascinating process of games development."

EA and NESTA have also supported the project, which runs alongside the BAFTA Young Game Designers competition.

"Games Unpacked is an additional offering on the BAFTA Young Game Designers website, and we look forward to seeing how visitors engage with the package," said Niyi Akeju, BAFTA producer.

The tool was recently on show at the Dare ProtoPlay games festival in Dundee.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now