Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

ngmoco confirms Lionside acquisition - update

Tue 13 Sep 2011 2:23pm GMT / 10:23am EDT / 7:23am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Social developer currently working on games for the Mobage platform

Update:

ngmoco's Bryce Baer has confirmed the acquisition the acquisition of Lionside to GamesIndustry.biz.

"We can confirm that ngmoco has acquired the Lionside team," he said. "The terms of the agreement are undisclosed. We are very excited to have Lionside join the ngmoco and DeNA family. They are working on new products for the Mobage social gaming platform, bringing their passion and experience to our continuously expanding first party development capabilities."

Original Story:

Mobile developer and publisher ngmoco is rumoured to have acquired NBA Legend developer, Lionside.

According to Inside Social Gaming, vice president of business operations Michael McBride and European account manager Kane Curran both updated their Linked In profiles to indicate that Lionside was "acquired by ngmoco."

Brandon Barber, Lionside's CEO, also updated his Google+ profile to read, "Lionside & ngmoco marketing and product guy."

Lionside's official website has also been taken down, and its two games, Lionside Football and NBA Legend, are not currently available to play on Facebook. The company did not respond when asked for comment.

Lionside was founded in 2009 as Popside, with a goal of developing sports games for social networks. The company raised $1.6 million in first round funding in November 2010.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now