Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gaikai receives new investment from Intel

Mon 12 Sep 2011 7:38am GMT / 3:38am EDT / 12:38am PDT
Emerging MarketsBusiness

Social game analytics firm Swrve also among companies sharing $24m in funding

The cloud-based streaming service Gaikai has raised new funding from Intel Capital.

The money was an undisclosed part of $24 million Intel invested across eight different companies. Social gaming analytics firm Swrve New Media also received funding.

"The best computing experiences unite leading-edge hardware with amazing software," said Intel's executive vice president Arvind Sodhani in a statement.

"These investments in best-of-breed software vendors play an integral part in Intel's software strategy by fueling the creation of compelling and unique user experiences across devices."

The decision to invest in Gaikai was motivated by its ability to stream game demos to any website, which matches Intel's, "compute continuum and visual computing strategies for delivering games to any client that supports the display of video."

Gaikai raised $30 million as recently as July, which followed $10 million in series B funding in May last year.

In a recent interview with GamesIndustry.biz, CEO David Perry revealed the company has contracts with "almost all of the major publishers.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now