Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Date set for West and Zampella court case

Mon 12 Sep 2011 8:21am GMT / 4:21am EDT / 1:21am PDT
LegalPublishing

Ex-Infinity Ward pair to face Activision in court on May 7

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

EA

Infinity Ward

Infinity Ward is an accomplished team of game makers focused on creating games that are fun, exciting,...

infinityward.com

Ex-Infinity Ward founders Jason West and Vince Zampella will take their case against Activision to court on May 7.

"I'm really looking forward to having our day in Court," Zampella told Forbes.

West and Zampella filed a lawsuit against the Modern Warfare publisher in March last year, claiming breach of contract and wrongful termination.

West and Zampella are suing for $125 million in Modern Warfare 2 royalties. Activision is counter suing the pair, and EA, for $400 million.

The trial will take place in Los Angeles.

Since their dismissal from Infinity Ward West and Zampella have formed Respawn Entertainment, an independent game studio with around 60 employees. It's currently working on a new IP with EA.

"We have new and exciting creativity and development going on at Respawn, to be announced in the future," said West.

West and Zampella will appear at the 3D Gaming and Beyond Summit in LA on September 22.

2 Comments

Kevin Clark-Patterson
Lecturer in Games Development

291 23 0.1
Finally...

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Tyler Moore
Game Designer & Unity Developer

51 14 0.3
Quite the David and Goliath story from what I've read. Hopefully in the end justice prevails, and not the company willing to lose the most money.

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now