Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Sony extends partnership with Nanyang Polytechnic

Fri 09 Sep 2011 9:21am GMT / 5:21am EDT / 2:21am PDT
Education

Education deal gives final year students access to PlayStation dev kits

Sony Computer Entertainment Asia has extended a deal with Nanyang Polytechnic in Singapore which gives final year students on game design courses access to Sony development kits to create projects.

The deal began in 2009, giving rise to the jointly supported NYP Games Resource Centre - an arrangement which has now been extended by five years, reports GameStop.

The resource centre is currently the only PlayStation development and educational facility in South East Asia, and has given rise to two fully fledged games due for release on the PlayStation network: PhaseShift: Threat Beyond the Network and Spell Weaver.

The extension of the deal will also give students the opportunity to create code for the forthcoming PlayStation Vita, with SCE Asia president Tetsuhiko Yasuda hoping to use the program to encourage more students to become professional developers for PlayStation platforms in the future.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now