Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Eidos Montreal to double headcount to 680

Fri 02 Sep 2011 7:39am GMT / 3:39am EDT / 12:39am PDT
PublishingDevelopment

Publisher settles on expanding existing team rather than creating new studio

Square Enix is looking to double the headcount of its Eidos Montreal studio to 680 employees, according to a new report.

Earlier in the year the company was considering opening a new studio in Canada for at least 100 new staff, but now looks to be settling on increasing the size of the team most recently responsible for Deus Ex: Human Revolution.

According to La Presse Affaires, the publisher is seeking CAD $2 million of government investment for the expansion and negotiations are close to final. By 2012 the publisher will create 100 jobs at the studio, with a further 250 by the end of 2015.

The expansion would put Eidos Montreal as the third biggest studio in the region, behind Ubisoft and Electronic Arts.

5 Comments

Lewis Brown
Snr Sourcer/Recruiter

194 41 0.2
Great too see more studios expanding makes a nice change from the normal doom and gloom :-). Dues Ex is great too so hopefully a nice juicy sequel will follow.

Posted:2 years ago

#1

Brennan Martin
Studying Russian language and culture

6 0 0.0
That's exciting, I don't live that far from Montreal, perhaps an application is in order...

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Murray Lorden
Game Designer & Developer

199 71 0.4
I hope that this all adds up to making Thief 4 a mega super awesome magical experience! I am so hoping that game is great.

(No boss battles, please). ;P

Posted:2 years ago

#3

Jeff Wilson

46 0 0.0
I think I'll relocate to Canada

Posted:2 years ago

#4

Graeme Jennings
Senior Producer

105 14 0.1
Damn!

Posted:2 years ago

#5

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now