Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Diablo creator Brevik to keynote Unite 11

Tue 23 Aug 2011 10:00am GMT / 6:00am EDT / 3:00am PDT
Developer ToolsPeople

Blizzard North and Flagship co-founder to speak about industry changes since Diablo

David Brevik, co-creator and lead programmer of Diablo and Diablo II, will give the keynote address at Unity Technologies' Unite 11 conference.

Brevik is currently the president and COO of Gazillion Entertainment, and is project lead on the studio's forthcoming MMO Marvel Universe. Prior to that he co-founded Blizzard North and Flaghsip Studios, and served as creative director at Turbine, Inc.

His keynote address is called, "To Hell and Back Again: How the Video Game Industry Has Changed Since Diablo." It will cover the emergence of social games, digital distribution, the free-to-play business model, and the future of the industry.

"I'm thrilled to have the opportunity to share my thoughts on the past and future of the video game industry," said Brevik in a statement.

"Unity Technologies shares Gazillion Entertainment's belief that high quality games should also be highly accessible, on any device, anywhere."

Unite 11 is the fifth conference organised by Unity Technologies for its rapidly growing community. It is preceded on September 27 with Flash Day, which will give Unity users a crash course in Flash development on the platform.

The main conference takes place from September 28 to 30 at the Masonic Center in San Francisco.

For a full interview with Unity CEO David Helgason, click here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now