Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Rovio appoints Fox Digital exec as GM of North America

Mon 22 Aug 2011 3:58pm GMT / 11:58am EDT / 8:58am PDT
PeopleCasual

Andrew Stalbow to grow the Angry Birds franchise

Angry Birds creator Rovio has appointed Andrew Stalbow as general manager of North America.

Stalbow leaves Fox Digital Entertainment's mobile division, where he worked with Rovio on Angry Birds Rio game, to join the company.

"I saw firsthand the power of the Angry Birds brand during the collaboration with the talented Rovio team on Angry Birds Rio," said Stalbow.

"I'm looking forward to helping grow Rovio's business and the Angry Birds franchise by building partnerships with the entertainment industry, the biggest consumer brands and the latest digital distribution platforms. Our goal is to continue to delight and surprise Angry Birds fans all over the world."

Stalbow has been with Fox for five years, progressing from international VP for Fox Mobile Entertainment on London to senior VP of mobile at Fox Digital Entertainment in LA, where he worked on popular franchises like Glee and The Simpsons. His career history also includes time with Vodafone.

"Working with Andrew on the Angry Birds Rio app was an excellent partnership," added Rovio CEO Mikael Hed.

"We're very excited to have him on board for our continued expansion in North America and in the entertainment industry in particular."

Earlier this month there were reports that Rovio was negotiating a funding deal that would value the company at around $1.2 billion.

2 Comments

Andrew Ihegbu
Studying Bsc Commercial Music

416 112 0.3
I hope he doesn't bring Fox's widely documented political Nazism with him.

Posted:2 years ago

#1
the cow is sore

Posted:2 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now