Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Atari strengthens management team

Thu 18 Aug 2011 7:34am GMT / 3:34am EDT / 12:34am PDT
People

Three appointments to facilitate ongoing shift to digital platforms

Atari

Atari group is a global creator, producer and publisher of interactive entertainment for interactive...

atari.com

Atari has completed a series of management level appointments to facilitate its ongoing shift to mobile and social platforms.

Robert Mattes is now chief financial officer, Owais Farooqui is senior vice president of digital publishing, and Maria Pacheco is vice president of mobile.

Farooqi joins Atari from the online gaming company King.com, and Pacheco was most recently vice president of Vivendi Games Mobile. They will spearhead the company's online strategy, leveraging its impressive IP portfolio for browsers, social networks, smartphones and tablets.

"Owais and Maria are innovative managers whose vast online and mobile success aligns with Atari‟s goal of creating the best experience for players across all social and casual gaming platforms," said Atari CEO Jim Wilson in a statement.

"As we continue to evolve our business, Owais and Maria will be instrumental in helping us build the digital vision and strategy for the overall Atari brand."

Atari took another step away from the core audience recently when it completed the sale of Cryptic Studios to Perfect World.

However, it is struggling in the transition to digital platforms, reporting consistent losses and axing 51 staff at Test Drive Unlimited developer Eden Games.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now