Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

EA buys iOS studio Bight Games

Tue 16 Aug 2011 4:00am GMT / 12:00am EDT / 9:00pm PDT
Business

Publisher picks up freemium Canadian team responsible for Trade Nations

Bight Games

Bight Games is a leading developer of mobile social games. In fact we’ve been making games for over seven...

bightgames.com

FIFA publisher Electronic Arts has acquired iOS developer Bight Games for an undisclosed sum.

The studio, based in Canada, specialises in free-to-play titles including Trade Nations, a top 50 grossing game on iPad and iPhone recently released on Facebook. The team will not become part of EA Interactive.

"At EAi, many of us already know Bight as a partner – we have worked with their talented team to develop several of our successful mobile games to date," said EA's Barry Cottle.

"Bight deepens our expertise in one of the fastest-growing segments of mobile games at an important time. We look forward to having them join our team at EAi when the deal closes later this month."

This month EA shuffled its studio teams, putting Barry Cottle in charge of EA Interactive, responsible for Playfish, EA Mobile, Hasbro, PopCap and Asian online and mobile businesses.

The publisher bought PopCap Games this year for $750 million, but has also been picking up smaller studios such as Unicorn Parade team Ohai.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now