Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NSW Attorney General supports Australian adult rating

Wed 10 Aug 2011 8:16am GMT / 4:16am EDT / 1:16am PDT
PoliticsLegal

Greg Smith had abstained from last month's official vote

New South Wales Attorney General Greg Smith has announced his decision to back at R18+ rating for Australia after abstaining from the official vote last month.

"Few people would dispute the value of a classification system that helps keep adult material beyond the reach of children," said Smith.

"With strong classification guidelines in place, an R18+ rating should result in violent games currently rated MA15+ in Australia being reclassified as adults-only, as they already are in many other countries.''

A representative for Smith's office also clarified its position to ABC.Last month eight of the nine territories agreed to introduce the rating, while NSW abstained in order to gather more information.

The move will allow Australia gamers access to games like Mortal Kombat or Left 4 Dead 2, which previously were either banned or heavily censored in the country. Some games may still be refused classification, for example if they show strong drug use.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now