Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Retail

Gamefly announces new digital distribution service

Wed 10 Aug 2011 7:40am GMT / 3:40am EDT / 12:40am PDT
RetailOnline

"It's kind of like a Spotify or Rhapsody or a Napster"

Gamefly has revealed a new digital subscription service, and will offer an Unlimited PC Play service to subscribers.

Unlimited PC Play allows users access to as many PC or Mac games as they choose, via digital download. Subscribers will also keep the option to receive game discs by mail.

"It's kind of like a Spotify or Rhapsody or a Napster," SVP of business development and content Sean Spector told USA Today.

"We are in discussion with all the major publishers. You have the physical and now you are going to have access to the digital as well. GameFly subscribers will truly get a benefit for no extra cost."

The American rental service will launch a closed beta for its subscribers September 8, with a full roll out planned for winter this year.

"We're thrilled to bring digital to the gaming consumer in a meaningful way, as no other service or retailer brings physical and digital gaming together like GameFly," Spector added in a press release.

"With a library of over 9,500 titles from over 300 first- and third-party publishers, GameFly members have the ultimate choice of how, what, when and where they game."

Gamefly launched in September 2002 in California. In May it acquired digital distribution company Direct2Drive from IGN.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now