Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity hires 3D Flash veteran Hauwert

Wed 03 Aug 2011 7:54am GMT / 3:54am EDT / 12:54am PDT
Developer Tools

Unity continues push into Flash with new appointment

Unity Technologies has appointed Flash 3D expert Ralph Hauwert as senior developer at its Copenhagen office.

The move will add experience to the company's engineering team, which has been working towards adding a Flash player exporting option to the Unity platform since January. The technology is due to enter beta at the end of this year.

Hauwert is one of the leading figures in 3D Flash development, and a major influence on the open source Flash movement.

"With this new toolchain, we will ensure that our customers can continue to deploy their content to the broadest possible range of users," Hauwert said in a statement.

"Furthermore, with the power of the Unity platform, the Flash publishing toolchain allows for unparalleled content creation options for Flash. With the ability to transparently publish for mobile, desktop and web through the Unity Web Player and the Flash Player, Unity developers will be more empowered than ever."

Unity's progress in Flash development is indicative of the expansion taking place right across the company. It opened a Stockholm office in June that will focus on AAA development, and a Seoul office in July to localise its products for Asian markets.

Hauwert will be speaking at Unity Technologies' Flash Day on September 27, the day before the start of the Unite 11 conference.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now