Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Adobe embraces HTML5 with free preview of Edge

Wed 03 Aug 2011 7:33am GMT / 3:33am EDT / 12:33am PDT
Developer Tools

Flash owner trials alternative with new design tool

Adobe

We help our customers create, deliver, and optimize compelling content and applications improving the...

adobe.com

Adobe, the company which created Flash, has released a free trial for a design tool which allows users to create web content with HTML5 - broadly accepted to be the technology which will usurp the widely used Flash standard.

The program, called Edge, is designed to allow the creation of content which will function across all of the platforms which Flash currently supports, in addition to iOS.

Apple notoriously refuses to allow support for the tool on its system, claiming that the program creates security vulnerabilities. HTML5 suffers from no such problems and is supported by Apple.

Edge will also support CSS3 and Javascript.

The Edge preview is available for free now and will enable the testing of various animation and graphical tools, but has no other functionality. The full version of the program is due for release in 2012.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now