Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

PlayFirst pulling Diner Dash from Facebook

Tue 26 Jul 2011 8:17am GMT / 4:17am EDT / 1:17am PDT
Development

Social dev looking to refocus efforts on other platforms

Diner Dash developer PlayFirst has announced that it will be closing the game's Facebook portal on August 29 in order to refocus efforts on other platforms.

Daily average user rates for Diner Dash had dipped below 100,000 last month, after a high of 257,000. MAU had dipped to 1.2 million from 2.5, reports Inside Social Games.

No numbers were available on the success of Diner Dash's monetisation mechanics but it is assumed that current audience figures were insufficient to sustain the game.

"We view this as a strategic redistribution of resources to platforms where we see better growth potential and those are the mobile platforms, specifically iOS," said PlayFirst founder and CEO Mari Baker.

Diner Dash is the company's only remaining game on the social network after the company decided to close stablemate Chocolatier earlier this year after audience figures declined in a similar way.

The withdrawal represents a major climbdown from attitudes expressed by the developer following a round of funding last year which raised $9.2 million for development.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now