Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Unity nets $12 million for Asian expansion

Thu 21 Jul 2011 7:08am GMT / 3:08am EDT / 12:08am PDT
BusinessDevelopment

Local investors back cross-platform development company

Unity has secured $12 million in funding to help expand the business into Asia.

The series B funding comes from China's WestSummit Capital and Singapore's iGlobe Partners, as well as current investor Sequoia Capital.

"For our next expansion phase, we decided to work with WestSummit Capital and iGlobe Partners because of their incredible understanding of and networks in Asia - our most strategic growth area - and their understanding of the region's market dynamics," said CEO David Helgasson.

Raymond Yang, founding partner at WestSummit Capital added: "Unity's cross platform solution has been highly regarded as the best 3D game development platform among China developers and enabled them to develop highly differentiated gaming products.

"We see China as the largest growing market for Unity Technologies, and we are strategically well positioned to help the company further penetrate the market and realize the full potential of doing business in China."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now