Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Gaikai secures $30m extra funding

Wed 20 Jul 2011 3:00pm GMT / 11:00am EDT / 8:00am PDT
Business

More financial backing for David Perry's cloud gaming service

Streaming games service Gaikai has secured a further $30 million in funding.

The funding was led by venture capital firm NEA and mobile giant Qualcomm, along with Benchmark Capital, Rustic Canyon and Intel Capital.

"Our vision is to manage the Gaikai Global Interactive Network, built from the ground up for the cloud," said David Perry, CEO of Gaikai.

"Telecommunications companies were built to deliver audio & data within geographic boundaries. The next generation networks must be able to additionally deliver instant, real time interactive experiences to a connected global audience, both wired and wireless.

He added: "We have all become used to accessing every song ever made, every book ever written, every movie in every genre through cloud-based services. Gaikai is bringing this same functionality to video games and other interactive software. Over the last few years we have quietly designed and assembled a custom high-speed interactive network, purpose built to realize this vision."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now