Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Marginal increase for online gaming in Japan

Fri 15 Jul 2011 7:26am GMT / 3:26am EDT / 12:26am PDT
Business

Social games generate 235.5 billion in region

The online games business in Japan grew slightly during 2010, up 3 per cent on the previous year.

According to the Japan Online Game Association, the market recorded 132.9 billion ($1.6bn / 1.04bn) last year, 29.4 billion ($371m / 230.2m) of which was attributed to packaged software sales and 103.5 billion ($1.3bn / 810.4m) for online game operations.

According to data, reported by Andriasang, social game sales - calculated separately - topped 235.5 billion ($2.9bn / 1.8bn).

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now