Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

NBA Jam creator leaves EA Sports for Zynga

Thu 14 Jul 2011 1:30pm GMT / 9:30am EDT / 6:30am PDT
PeopleDevelopment

Mark Turmell departs EA Tiburon for social giant after just 18 months

NBA Jam and Smash T.V. creator Mark Turmell has left EA Sports for Zynga.

Turmell is the latest in a string of high-ranking employees to leave EA for the social game giant, including COO John Schappert and EA Sports general manager Eric Chiang.

He joined the EA Tiburon studio in January 2010 as senior director, and his decision to leave just 18 months into his tenure will be a surprise to many.

"We appreciate Mark's contribution to Tiburon and EA Sports and wish him well in future endeavors," said an EA spokesperson in a statement to Kotaku.

Turmell's decision follows the departure of a number of staff in May to form a new studio, Row Sham Bow, and Phil Frazier, executive producer of the Madden NFL franchise, in June.

4 Comments

Alvaro Cavalcanti Systems Engineer

1 0 0.0
Will the next SomeNameVille be sports-themed?

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Terence Gage Freelance writer

1,289 126 0.1
SportsVille?!

...

...

Wait; how do I file a trademark?

Edited 1 times. Last edit by Terence Gage on 14th July 2011 5:43pm

Posted:3 years ago

#2
I'm more curious to see what the lure of Zynga is. Surely its not the work culture or perks

Posted:3 years ago

#3

Graham Simpson Tea boy, Collins Stewart

219 7 0.0
Because Basketballville will be so much more fun than NBA....

Posted:3 years ago

#4

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now