Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Zynga launches PrivacyVille to make policy fun

Fri 08 Jul 2011 1:57pm GMT / 9:57am EDT / 6:57am PDT
Online

Gamers rewarded for exploring FarmVille creator's privacy policy

Social gaming giant Zynga has found a new way to introduce its privacy policy to users, launching an interactive map called PrivacyVille.

"At Zynga we take user privacy seriously," said the official Zynga blog.

"While PrivacyVille is not intended to be a substitute for our Privacy Policy or Privacy Center, our goal is to provide you with a fun and rewarding way to learn about our key practices, and information and resources that will assist you with general online privacy."

The game is found in the Privacy section of Zynga’s official website, and tracks users' progress as they explore sections like email and payments on a CityVille style map. Players are then tested on the information in order to earn zPoints, Zynga’s virtual currency.

Zynga has just filed for a $1 billion IPO, and is expected to secure a $20 billion dollar valuation. It currently has 283 million monthly active users spread across games like FarmVille and CityVille.

2 Comments

Perhaps a nice small step towards gamifying RL activities!

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Curt Sampson
Sofware Developer

596 360 0.6
Brilliant! Not only should this increase awareness of the privacy policy amongst users, but completion of this can serve as evidence in a court case, should one come up for any reason, that the user actually did understand the privacy policy.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now