Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel


Sega and EA sign Japanese distribution deal

By Rachel Weber

Tue 05 Jul 2011 7:52am GMT / 3:52am EDT / 12:52am PDT

Partnership will start with Shadows Of The Damned

Sega and Electronic Arts have announced a new deal that will allow Sega to distribute EA titles in Japan.

According to Andriasang, EA hopes the move will extend its reach in the country. The partnership will begin with retail orders for Grasshopper Manufacture's Shadows Of The Damned, and by August all EA games will be distributed by Sega in Japan.

After the announcement Sega Sammy saw a 3 per cent rise on the Japanese stock market.

New IP Shadows Of The Damned went on sale in the UK June 24 and achieved good review scores, but disappointing sales, failing to break into the sales chart top thirty in its first week.

From Recommendations by Taboola


Patrick Frost QA Project Monitor

432 281 0.7
Seems like a good move. I would think that SoJ have more connections and general ability in Japan than EA do. Probably good business to be made for both companies.

Posted:4 years ago

Seems like a very good cross cultural/regional partnership indeed

Posted:4 years ago

Smooth strategic move. Benefit for both sides.

Posted:4 years ago


Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now