Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Japanese PSN back on Wednesday

Mon 04 Jul 2011 10:32am GMT / 6:32am EDT / 3:32am PDT
OnlinePublishing

PlayStation Network will return to the country a month after US

Sony Computer Entertainment

Sony Computer Entertainment is a Japanese videogame company specialising in a variety of areas in the...

playstation.com

Sony Computer Entertainment Japan has announced that the PlayStation Network will return to full functionality in Japan on July 6.

Japan is the final territory to be restored after the shut down at the end of April, a full month after Europe and America. Services have been returning since the end of May, but this final move will see access to the PlayStation Store reinstated.

One reason for the Japanese delay was the demands placed on Sony by the government and credit card regulators, which included preventative measures to ensure the security of the system.

The security breach and subsequent shutdown is expected to cost the company approximately $170m.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now