Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Trademark issues block Trenched release in Europe

Thu 30 Jun 2011 10:56am GMT / 6:56am EDT / 3:56am PDT
Online

Double Fine's Xbox Live Arcade game blocked by Portuguese board game

Critically acclaimed Xbox Live Arcade title Trenched has had its European release halted due to a trademark conflict with a Portuguese-made board game.

Although Double Fine's Trenched was released in North America on June 22, GamesIndustry.biz sister site Eurogamer has discovered that the game's European release has been blocked by board game designer Rui Alípio Monteiro and his title Trench.

The trademark for Trench covers both board games and video games, with both titles nominally set during the First World War. However, Trench features entirely abstract gameplay and visuals, whereas Trenched includes giant mechs and a more fantastical approach.

Publisher Microsoft has commented only that it has encountered "unexpected challenges with distribution", while Monteiro has refused to discuss the matter with Eurogamer Portugal.

It is unclear whether Double Fine will seek to dispute the trademark or whether they will release the game in Europe under a different name.

1 Comment

Andrew Goodchild Studying development, Train2Game

1,254 421 0.3
Surely Trench and Trenched are 2 seperate, albeit linked words? I recall with Edge by mobigame, when they suggested changing to Edgy Tim Langdell quickly applied for a trade mark for that, implying that it wasn't covered in the original. How blurred can trademarks be applied?

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now