Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Respawn updates website for first time

Thu 30 Jun 2011 10:27am GMT / 6:27am EDT / 3:27am PDT
Development

Call of Duty creators hint at new game, as God of War staff join studio

The website of Respawn Entertainment has seen its first major update since the company's creation, although there remain no firm details on the developer's first game.

The fallout from Activision's sacking of Call of Duty co-creators Jason West and Vince Zampella continues to be felt, with their lawsuit against their former employer taking a further step towards a jury trial this week.

The website gives a first hint as to the nature of Respawn's initial game, to be published via EA Partners. However, the official description reads only as follows:

"Respawn is developing a multi-platform product based on new video game IP and funded through its publishing deal with Electronic Arts, one of the top publishers in the industry."

Two images from the game are included in the website update, one of which appears to be an exterior shot of a building surrounded by thick forest. The second is speculated to be part of a gun or other in-game equipment.

Although Respawn's game is widely assumed to be a first person shooter of some sort the distorted images presented are likely to be purposefully deceptive. With no appearance for the developer at E3 this year it is unclear when the game might be officially announced or when it is planned for release.

The website includes job listings for software engineer and QA lead, but it also indicates that designers and artists from SCE Santa Monica Studio, best known for the God of War series, have joined the company.

1 Comment

Gregory Hommel
writer

91 53 0.6
Sony Santa Monica? All I hear is QUALITY and I like it.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now