Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Bungie launches new venture to support indie developers

Thu 30 Jun 2011 1:29pm GMT / 9:29am EDT / 6:29am PDT
MobilePublishing

New Aerospace initiative’s first partner is Jordan Weisman's Harebrained Schemes

Today it was revealed that Bungie’s Aerospace project is in fact an initiative to help independent developers create mobile and social games.

“The ultimate goal of Bungie Aerospace is to help independent developers create and showcase their games. That’s the bar. Unless you also count the giant pile of cash we’re all hoping to swim around in, but that seems really materialistic,” stated the official press release.

It also said that Aerospace would allow developers to make the most of the its resources, the Bungie.net platform and the large Bungie community, to launch new games.

“Bungie has always been passionate about making and playing great games, regardless of platform,” said Pete Parsons, Bungie COO.

“Bungie Aerospace will allow us to explore game creation in multiple formats with some amazingly talented teams. Now that we’ve returned to our roots as an independent studio, we are in a position to launch Bungie Aerospace to support, foster, and elevate like-minded, independent developers.”

The first independent deliver to sign up is Harebrained Schemes, headed up by the man behind Halo 2’s “I Love Bees” alternate reality game and Shadowrun, Jordan Weisman. The Seattle based studio’s first project will be a mobile game for iOS and Andorid called Crimson, and will be released later this summer.

Weisman has also founded a number of game companies, including 42 Entertainment and Smith And Tinker.

The official site for the project can be found here.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now