Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Call Of Duty: Black Ops smashes sales record

Wed 29 Jun 2011 7:22am GMT / 3:22am EDT / 12:22am PDT
BusinessPublishing

Shooter surpasses Modern Warfare 2 to become the most successful game in UK history

Activision Blizzard

Headquartered in Santa Monica, California, Activision Blizzard, Inc. is a worldwide pure-play online...

activisionblizzard.c...

Treyarch

Founded in 1996, and acquired by Activision in 2001, Treyarch has grown to become one of the most successful...

treyarch.com

Call Of Duty Black Ops is now the highest selling video game in UK history.

According to data released by UKIE, Treyarch's blockbuster FPS sold 3,722,411 units by June 25th, surpassing Modern Warfare 2's sales by 2,001 units in just 30 weeks.

"This is a terrific achievement for Activision and Treyarch, showing that established franchises continue to perform well and that the UK market remains strong," said UKIE commercial manager Sam Collins.

"The result is all the more impressive given that it does not include digital sales, which would substantially increase the figure."

Black Ops was the first Call Of Duty game released following the acrimonious departure of Jason West and Vincent Zampella from Infinity Ward, and its record-breaking sales suggest it has done little to dent the appeal of the franchise.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now