Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Stringer: Sony was attacked for protecting its content

Tue 28 Jun 2011 8:02am GMT / 4:02am EDT / 1:02am PDT
HardwarePublishing

Sony Corp CEO faces shareholders and is asked to step down

Howard Stringer, chief executive of Sony Corp, has faced shareholder questions about the recent hacking attacks on the company at a meeting in Tokyo.

"We believe that we first became the subject of attack because we tried to protect our IP (intellectual property), our content, in this case video games," the CEO explained.

"These are our corporate assets, and there are those that don't want us to protect them, they want everything to be free."

According to Reuters, during the meeting there was a call from a shareholder for the CEO to step down, but Stringer made no direct comment on the suggestion.

Sony is currently facing a lawsuit over the attacks on PlayStation Network and the Sony Online Entertainment Network.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now