Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Braben to present Develop keynote

Tue 28 Jun 2011 2:35pm GMT / 10:35am EDT / 7:35am PDT
EventsDevelopment

Frontier Developments founder to offer Design Track keynote

David Braben of Frontier Developments will deliver the Design Track keynote at the Develop conference in Brighton from July 19 - 21.

His talk will centre on working with Kinect as part of his Frontier Development's latest project, Kinect Disneyland Adventures. The keynote will be just of over 90 sessions available at the event.

"You donít get a better opportunity than this to work with a wide range of rich characters and stories that are genuinely loved by huge numbers of people the world over," said Braben. "It has been a great experience which Iím looking forward to discussing in Brighton in July."

As well as his work with Frontier Developments, Braben co-wrote Elite, a 3D space trading game, in 1984. His other credits include Thrillville and Kinectimals.

1 Comment

I think the main challenge from a design standpoint is, are human beings ready to adopt a non tactile feedback system such as kinect.

Would young kids adapt to this well?

From a biological standpoint, having designed grooves on buttons and levers (provides really subtle important cues which provide a realistic feedback experience) - coupled with vibration and force feedback.

Thus, short of wearing a force feedback suit or force feedback gloves & shoes, I feel the kinect experience may not translate Disneyland adventures (or other current games) to its utmost potential. This could be the missing link for the microsoft kinect experience really.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now