Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

BAFTA Young Game Designers competition begins

Tue 28 Jun 2011 10:33am GMT / 6:33am EDT / 3:33am PDT
Events

London workshop for young hopefuls, as celebrities and MPs praise scheme

BAFTA

BAFTA is the leading independent charity supporting, developing and promoting the art forms of the moving...

bafta.org

BAFTA has announced plans for its second annual design competition for children, with a launch event for the Young Game Designers scheme taking place today.

The workshop style event at the Westfield London Shopping Centre will allow teams of three children aged 11 to 16 the chance to pitch their ideas to a judging panel, ahead of additional workshops planned for around the country.

A number of minor British celebrities will help promote the competition with actors Tyger Drew-Honey of TV show Outnumbered and Waterloo Road's Millie Katana appearing as ambassadors at the event.

Arsenal Football Club's Jack Wilshire and The Sarah Jane Adventure's Anjil Mohindra will also be involved in promoting the project in general.

The eventual winner of the competition will have the team's idea turning into a working prototype by a team of students at Dundee's Abertay University - home of the Dare to be Digital design competition.

"I am delighted BAFTA is running the competition again. Initiatives like this one help encourage and nurture emerging talent while also inspiring others to be more creative," said government culture minister Ed Vaizey.

Further information is available at the official website.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now