Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

No restart date for Japanese PlayStation Network

Fri 24 Jun 2011 8:36am GMT / 4:36am EDT / 1:36am PDT
Online

Governmental restrictions still preventing return of services in Japan

Sony Japan has released a news update concerning the PlayStation Network in Japan, but has still failed to provide any indication of when services might return.

According to Andriasang, the first news update in two weeks was sent to Japanese customers yesterday, apologising for the wait but revealing that more time was needed to make "adjustments with the various related parties".

No relaunch date was hinted at and there was no clarification as to who the "related parties" might be. However, this is almost certainly a reference to Japanese regulators, who have demanded additional security assurances before allowing the service to go back online.

Despite PlayStation Network services returning in North America, Europe and most of Asia the Japanese government has been much more demanding of Sony's new security measures.

In May the Media and Content Industry department at the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry made specific demands of Sony in terms of preventive measures and consumer confidence.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now