Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

iPad has 89% of tablet traffic worldwide

Fri 24 Jun 2011 2:24pm GMT / 10:24am EDT / 7:24am PDT
HardwareOnline

Apple devices claim 97% of US traffic according to new report

Apple

Established in 1976, Apple is a multinational corporation (corporate headquarters based in California)...

apple.com

A new report from research group comScore suggests that the iPad sees 89 per cent of total tablet online traffic in the world market and 97 per cent in the US.

The report was created as part of comScore's new Device Essentials service, which discusses digital traffic by device. The Unified Digital Measurement (UDM) data is based on census-level information from tagged web page content.

To promote the news service comScore has released public data, which shows that the iPad's contribution to total non-computer device traffic is highest in Canada at 33.5 per cent. In the US the figure is 21.8 per cent and in the UK 21.13 per cent.

Contributions from Android tablets are less than 1 per cent in most markets, although Apple does not dominate across all device types. In the US the iPhone contributes only 23.5 percent of non-computer online traffic, compared to 35.6 per cent for Android devices.

A report last year claimed that gaming is the number one paid-for App category on the iPad, suggesting the device and tablet format may be even more significant for gaming than smartphones.

Earlier this week Take-Two Interactive boss Strauss Zelnick said that he saw no reason not to create games for tablets which could be priced between $20 and $40.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now