Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

3DS TV service to begin in Japan

Mon 20 Jun 2011 8:19am GMT / 4:19am EDT / 1:19am PDT
Hardware

News, sport, trainspotting, and idol wrestling TV shows coming to 3DS

A new 3D television service for the 3DS is to begin in Japan from tomorrow, with a variation of the existing SpotPass feature used to download new content.

From Tuesday Japanese 3DS owners will be able to download a new app from the Nintendo eShop called Itsu no Ma ni Terebi, which Andriasang indicates is similar to the Japanese name for the SpotPass service.

The content from Fuji Television and Nippon Television will be produced specifically for the 3DS. The shows will be free to download but will feature adverts.

Daily updates are promised for most of the content, including shows themed around news, animals, trainspotting, magic tricks, and celebrity idol wrestling. A weekly show focusing on outdoor sculptures will also be available, as well as a sports programme every Saturday and Sunday.

3D television content has also been promised for the European market, with Nintendo originally announcing deals with Sky and Aardman Animation during the first unveiling of the 3DS in Europe.

There is still no indication of when the content will be available, although a 3D trailer for movie Green Lantern is currently available on the European eShop.

1 Comment

Kingman Cheng
Illustrator and Animator

952 180 0.2
Aardman Animation on the 3DS? Yes please!

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now