Close
Report Comment to a Moderator Our Moderators review all comments for abusive and offensive language, and ensure comments are from Verified Users only.
Please report a comment only if you feel it requires our urgent attention.
I understand, report it. Cancel

Japanese studio Game Republic closed

Fri 17 Jun 2011 9:55am GMT / 5:55am EDT / 2:55am PDT
Development

Genji and Folklore studio MIA, as concerns raised for boss Yoshiki Okamoto

Reports from Japan suggest that Genji and Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom developer Game Republic may have closed, with president and CEO Yoshiki Okamoto reportedly missing.

Founded in 2003, the Tokyo-based company has been responsible for a number of games over the years, from the two Genji titles, to Folklore, Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom, Knights Contract and that Clash of the Titans movie tie-in.

However, the company has never had a significant hit and it seems it may finally have been forced to close. Website Kotaku reports that Game Republic's offices are now vacant, with a "For Rent" sign in the window.

Okamoto's blog has also disappeared at the same time, with rumours circulating that he may have skipped the country due to significant debts - some alleged to be from disreputable sources.

Despite the reports Game Republic has made no official announcement regarding its current status, although the company website no longer appears to be online.

2 Comments

Haven Tso Web-based Game Reviewer

259 12 0.0
That will be very sad because Game Republic made quite a number of quality games. Majin and the Forsaken Kingdom and Folklore are good examples of them.

Posted:3 years ago

#1

Terence Gage Freelance writer

1,289 126 0.1
That's a shame. I was still holding out hope that more Folklores would be made at some point, and I really enjoyed Majin too. They just never had the success that they arguably deserved.

Posted:3 years ago

#2

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now