Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Studio head details Zynga acquisition process

Tue 14 Jun 2011 8:38am GMT / 4:38am EDT / 1:38am PDT
CasualDevelopment

FarmVille maker "not worried about the margins" says anonymous developer

The founder of one of the many development studios acquired by Zynga in recent months has discussed the experience in a new interview, which he described as a "good process".

Speaking anonymously to website Business Insider, the unnamed executive repeatedly referred to the speed at which Zynga is able to make and execute decisions: "They bought the company and we didn't even take a day off."

Although not directly critically of the company the studio head did highlight potential flaws in Zynga's approach: "They move really fast and they're good at executing, but they just kind of throw bodies at problems. Not thought."

"They're really ruthless with cutting things that don't work. If a game doesn't work, they kill it. They'll throw those resources somewhere else. I definitely get that," said the executive.

"They've got one or two things right and they're focused on that. I think a lot of companies do that."

"They're not worried about the margins," he added. "If they can buy a user on a Facebook ad for a dollar and the user nets me a dollar and three cents, even, then I'll keep buying users until that's positive. Zynga is making way more money than anybody, but they're also spending more money than anybody."

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now