Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Capcom sells Devil May Cry movie rights to Sony subsidiary

Thu 09 Jun 2011 8:22am GMT / 4:22am EDT / 1:22am PDT
Business

Screen Gems hopes to repeat Resident Evil's $580m box office

Capcom has sold movie rights to its Devil May Cry franchise to Sony subsidiary Screen Gems.

The production firm had previously seen notable success from movie adaptations of another Capcom property, Resident Evil, which has brought in some $580 million in box office takings to date.

Variety reports that the script will be written by Kyle Ward, also currently working on an adaptation of Square-Enix's Kane and Lynch.

It is unclear at present whether the planned movie will be based on the existing Devil May Cry action games (which have sold more than 10 million copies to date), or the upcoming, fanbase-angering reboot from Ninja Theory, which features a reimagined, younger version of hero Dante. Variety claims the Capcom is planning a number of cross-media strategies related to the latter.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now