Close
Are you sure? Are you sure you want to report this comment? I understand, report it. Cancel

Eurogamer Network is first European partner for Gaikai

Wed 08 Jun 2011 4:00pm GMT / 12:00pm EDT / 9:00am PDT
Business

Deal provides in-browser game streaming for consumer websites across Europe

Gamer Network

Find out more at www.gamer-network.net

gamer-network.net

The Eurogamer Network has been announced as the first pan-European media affiliate for cloud-gaming service Gaikai, allowing users to play games in-browser via the site.

The scheme will roll out across Eurogamer's European partners in Germany, France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, The Netherlands, Denmark, Czech Republic, and Sweden as well as the founding English language site, Eurogamer.net.

"We're delighted to be working with Gaikai in Europe," said Eurogamer MD and co-founder Rupert Loman.

"Being able to offer our community the option to instantly stream games via the browser is such a cool feature to have, and for our advertisers it is a fantastic new sampling opportunity that will genuinely revolutionise how they can promote and demo games to users in the future."

"We've been Beta testing in Europe for over six months and are extremely excited for Europe's No.1 gaming site to be our first media affiliate,"  added David Perry, CEO of Gaikai.  

"We already have 7 live data centres in Europe making it the fastest cloud gaming network in that continent.  This will offer Eurogamer's millions of readers a great experience."

The service will give users the ability to play games via their browsers without leaving the host site, thanks to Gaikai's streaming technology.

Demos of Gaikai's games will be available for free to readers, but program affiliates will also receive a percentage of revenues generated by purchases from their users.

GamesIndustry.biz is a proud member of the Eurogamer Network.

Login or register to post

Take part in the GamesIndustry community

Register now